Joy Ripley Alberta SPCA Scholarship in Animal Science

Joy Ripley became a Director of the Alberta SPCA in 1983, and served as President from 1987 until 2003. The scholarship was announced at a reception in Joy’s honour held March 2004, following her term as Past President.

JoyRipley.jpgJoy’s ongoing affiliation with the University of Alberta – she had served on their Animal Welfare & Policy Committee for over 15 years – made this scholarship dedication a perfect way to pay tribute to Joy’s passion for animal welfare in our province.

Potential recipients are nominated for the $2,500 prize by the Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Home Economics, and are selected from students with superior academic achievement entering the third year of a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture degree program majoring in Animal Science.

Congratulations to Carly Hansen of Sylvan Lake, our 2010 recipient!